Plastic panels installed over the chicken pen, Update cutting mill ends via the circular saw.

I scavenged several plastic roof panels from a neighbor that were renovating.  The original plan was to cover the wood area but the panels were a bit old and heat cracked, plus the roof over the wood area needs to be re-built.  Mom and I decided to use the roof panels over the chicken pen and then place the tarp over the top of the panels to cover any gaps.  We hope having the roof panels under the tarp will eliminate water pooling, causing the tarp to sag and will keep the chicken pen area clear of puddles and ice this winter.  I think the pen roof looks much better for shrugging off the weather.  We had 30+ MPH winds for a couple of days few days and the “new” roof did very well in the wind. Now we are waiting to see how the roof panels hold up during the rest of the fall weather.  I was a bit surprised by how quickly Mom and I got the panels and then covered every thing with Mom’s big tarp. Overall the tarp is  taut covering the roof panels, we used zip ties on the sides and bungie cords on the front of the tarp.  Hopefully the roof will flex a bit in windy weather but have good strength shedding any rain or snow.

I used the little B&D circular saw to fill two of the wood buckets. I did a lot better physical energy wise as I’m learning how to use the saw properly. It has taken me a bit of time and practice learning the correct way to use some of my tools. A great side effect of cutting up mill ends is I am learning how to cut wood with out wasting  good lumber. Speaking for myself, I sort of thought you cut the wood you needed and never give a thought about working with the grain or against the grain cutting wood.  Yes, I was a bit slow on figuring this out.  I have a coupon from Harbor Freight for the 10 inch miter saw $88.88 and the 12 inch compound miter saw $139.99 double h recommended. Either saw should should be a good compound miter saw for cutting up my mill ends plus built in shelves to turn my front bedroom into a library.

I had a kind of strange reaction to saving a bit of cash this month. I have been preaching about paying a few critical bills ahead if you can afford it.  I have worked hard to try and get a bit of ahead on paying my basic bills ahead and this month I finally made it happen. I have the cash on hand to buy the miter saw but I don’t want to spend the money on the miter saw until I have more cash on hand.

I’m saving a bit of cash, and it is simple if not easy. I’m slowly getting ahead of the power curve, paying my bills ahead of the due date.   I can’t say I’m free, as I still have my house debt, but I have broke free of living paycheck to paycheck  and paying late fees because of timing of my checks. Now I’m working on  cash for an”emergency fund” rather than just falling back on my storage if an emergency blind sides me.

The  50 cent, $10.00 rolls of coins are a great for my little “mad money” fund work great for yard sales and the Xmas bazaars, since most folks selling don’t have cash on hand for breaking large bills.  Plus 50 cent coin roll might contain a pre 1964 90% silver coin or a 65-69 40% silver coin. I have not got lucky finding a silver coin but I’m not losing out as all coins do have a face value of 50 cents.

 

2 Responses to Plastic panels installed over the chicken pen, Update cutting mill ends via the circular saw.

  1. Matt says:

    One time I scored pretty big on finding the silver 50 cent pieces. In one outing, I think it was 8 silver coins. I then went and ordered 2 boxes of them and found……. absolutely nothing and I never tried again.

    I think I got all the stuff to rig a local wifi network, then this Lyme Disease (and it’s 2 equally nasty friends) kicked in full steam and I never even got started trying to see if I could make the network go…..

    If it’s not one thing it’s two.

    • Jamie says:

      Matt: Some times it feels like it is feast or famine. I’m buying just 2 or 3 $10.00 rolls at a time from my credit union. I’m looking at some rolls of quarters and dimes to the “coin money stash” for any sort of vending and making change if the banks have to close for any reason.

      You might check out the WI-fi mesh network Wiki and the open source router software. https://docs.meshwith.me/

      I used an old Linksys 54g 5 series router and I’m darned pleased with the software upgrade. I was also surprised how many different types of routers have open source software upgrades/ open source code support.
      http://www.dd-wrt.com/site/support/router-database

