Started insulating the chicken house today.

The radiant insulation was very easy to push between the wall studs of the chicken shed/house. We did have a few problems getting the staplers to work correctly but if you have a good, light to medium weight stapler attaching the radiant barrier to the studs is very fast and simple. We did not use any of the glue to attach the the walls, though that may change on placing the radiant barrier on the ceiling.  There was much “wailing and cursing” dealing with the multi-purpose screws we used to attach some thin plywood underlayment to keep the hens away from pecking the new insulation.  Buy and stock up on self drilling screws if you use a battery drill and work primarily with wood. Trust me, any extra cost is mitigated by time savings and ease of installation. While Mom and I were installing the insulation along only 2 walls,  we saw over 4 degrees F. increase in temperature in the chicken house.  Mom placed a small temp. gauge in the chicken shed. We will be able to track how well the insulation affects the chickens and egg production.

I had to do a bit of cutting of the underlayment plywood we got from Home depot. I have a couple of cheap plastic saw horses, the best I can say is they are better than nothing. If you want something for working with lumber, invest in some heavy duty saw horses.  The small  18 volt battery powered B&D circular saw did very well cutting the thin underlayment  plywood. I FUBARed a couple of measurements not converting inside and outside dimensions of the shed. I screwed the pooch by not doing an internal measurement of the shed.  Those contractors and wood working guys know, always say measure twice and cut once. Those guys are smart!

If we can get all the staple guns working I think we should be able to finish off installing all the insulation and the basic barrier that will keep the hens from pecking at the insulation.  I may piss and moan about some of these jobs, but I am learning a lot about how to insulate, creating a vapor barrier as well as air circulation to prevent any sort of mold build up.  I can see using the radiant rolls of insulation might be a good solution to start insulating my shop.

I’m not knocking Practical Parsimony she is a smart gal, and she is in the deep south where things tend to be very humid and warm. That is a big setup for mold & mildew in her neck of the woods. S .Lynn is local to me and her birds are still roosting in trees and my aunt does not insulate her chicken coops. While I can’t these folks are wrong about chicken survival. My Mom’s chickens tend to have high egg production compared to most in the local area. It just makes sense, if a bird is cold it’s body will need to generate heat rather than egg production.

What is the worst that can happen?  Well, I have learned a bit about applying radiant insulation , also a vapor barrier to a structure. While it is warm for a couple of days it is forcasted to get all snowy/cold this weekend so we  can see if mold might be a problem.  If the birds are happy and lay eggs I’m happy!

2 Responses to Started insulating the chicken house today.

  1. S.Lynn says:

    I finally put up a heat lamp above the roosts for the birds and put it on a timer. The birds seem comfortable to roost outside under the light. Might have to try some insulation next year inside the coop. Keep us posted if you come across insulated eggs 😉 . Heh

  2. Jamie says:

    S.Lynn: No insulated eggs yet, though adding the high 18% percent feeds seems to help the birds through the molt and the egg production is starting to go up a bit.

