Doing little things working towards the big things

I used Sci-Fi Chick’s recipe for quick yeast rolls to make hamburger buns and it worked out great.  Mom loved the homemade hamburger buns but I thought the buns were just a touch on the sweet side for me. This recipe should  work great for homemade hot dog buns. Flavor-wise and looking at the texture of the dough, it reminds me of a sort Brioche/sweet bread dough. Though I don’t have much of a sweet tooth and prefer salty and savory foods most of the time. I may have to try this recipe for making a quick batch of cinnamon rolls.

When you look at the cost of store bought buns, Sci’s recipe can save you a bunch of money. I buy yeast by the pound and flour in 25-50 pound sacks but I figure the  ingredient cost for the buns around 50 cents for my first batch of hamburger buns. Plus this recipe is super fast to make!  The total time for making this recipe from start to finish is about an hour or less depending on your baking time. You can make a batch of home made rolls or buns in less time it takes your charcoal to be ready to cook, and that includes the rolls baking time.  This is a great recipe to introduce people to homemade breads, and it is a great prepper/homesteader type recipe as the only “fresh” ingredient required is one chicken egg.

Ugh! mud in the backyard. I am working on improving the soil and I let all the old (chemically maintained) grass die out in the backyard. Now the backyard is a bit of a mud pit and  most of the pups come in with very muddy feet.  Plus the critter don’t care for the mud and mostly tinkle and poo on the patio.  This is not a good situation!   While I was hoping to wait until Feb. to add more wood mulch walk/pathways the mud is bad enough I need to get paths started and start laying down good grass seed for this spring.  Where I laid down the wood mulch around the garden beds has not got at all muddy even with Mom’s chickens digging/kicking the mulch around.

I know that rock, sand ,straw and compost can add a lot/drainage to clay soil, but so far on my yard, wood and leaf mulch seems to be the most effective  mulch for my soil. Speaking for myself, I need to make the pathways of mulch and start seeding grass. I have all the tools on hand, now it is time to do the work.

I suppose that a few people will think if is a bit silly to keep working on a perma-culture/food forest when I want a loan to fix stuff up and sell the house.  But I have no idea what will happen in the future. I want to move to the country but I don’t know if my house will sell even at the price/profit if it gets a new roof and a bit of electric/plumbing work done. This still a great house in a pretty good neighborhood. Perhaps I can bring a few neighbors around this summer when they have a bit of time to relax and are not so busy.

For me I always try to keep working on the basics and improving my preps. I don’t live life as NO you can’t do it, sometimes it means just can not do it now. I always have the rest of my life to try! It might be a day or decades but I have yet to find an expiration date on any part of my body. So I might as well dream big as limited to my income/ situation allows.

 

4 Responses to Doing little things working towards the big things

  1. S.Lynn says:

    With the mud comes a preview of nicer weather. I’d prefer the frozen ground but one must break a few eggs (muddy up the feet/boots) to make an omelette (start spring yard work).

  2. S.Lynn says:

    where abouts is the roll recipe? Tried looking for it online to no avail.

    • Jamie says:

      30 Minute Rolls From SCi-fi Chick @Bacon & Eggs blog
      1 C plus 2 Tbsp warm water
      1/3 C oil
      2 Tbsp yeast
      1/4 C sugar
      1 1/2 tsp salt
      1 egg
      3 1/2 C bread flour (seems to work better but all purpose flour will also work)
      Heat oven to 400 degrees.
      In your mixer bowl combine the water, oil, yeast and sugar and allow it to rest for 15 minutes. Using your dough hook, mix in the salt, egg and flour. Knead with hook until will incorporated and dough is soft and smooth. (Just a few minutes)
      Form dough into 12 balls and then place in a greased 9 x 13 pan and allow to rest for 10 minutes. Bake for 10 minutes at 400 degrees or until golden brown.

      https://myadventuresinselfreliance.wordpress.com/recipes/

