Computers and electronic stuff

I got most of the parts installed for the updating the Desktop PC. I ordered the wrong memory sticks so it will be next week before I can give you a report on how the PC performs. The refurb HP laptop is running like a champ and the Windows 7 operating system is working great with older programs made for Windows XP!  I want a desktop PC for several reasons:

  • With desktop PC you can upgrade hardware easily to stay current with technological advances.  Laptops are very difficult to upgrade beyond a hard drive or memory sticks.
  • Building your own desktop machine often is cheaper than buying a store bought machine as you can reuse older parts or computer cases to hole the parts of the new PC.
  • You can build a more powerful desktop for a lot less money than buying powerful laptop. For example: The desktop I am building will have more memory, more hard drive space, a dedicated video card for graphics (gaming/video editing). A somewhat powerful laptop for gaming will cost about a thousand dollars. A desktop PC with the same gaming capability of that laptop can be built for $500.00 or less.
  • Having both a laptop and desktop PC provides redundancy for your computer needs. While both computer will do most jobs, a laptop is better if the power goes out or if you need to bug out. A desktop gives you a lot processing power for daily tasks.
  • I want to have a laptop stored in my “faraday cage” that can be updated and somewhat capable in case of a CME or I need to bugout.  The internet is now the place to get information, so I think all preppers must have wifi/mesh networks or access to the internet for info.
  • Life goes on even if you are prepping for Armageddon! I would not suggest that gaming is life, but there is nothing wrong going out on WOW raids or playing a few hours of a FPS/RPG game. Actually those games are a great way to talk to gamers world wide and get their opinion on what is happening locally in their country.

I tested out the Rosewell 1300 milli-amp hour charger on my kindle and cell phone. I used the 2 amp USB port and both the kindle were recharged in about 4 hours the phone was charged in about 2 hours. I guesstimate about the same amount of time charging via an electrical outlet.  The Kindle fire was at a 50% percent charge but I can’t give you a % remaining charge on the phone. I guesstimate about a 25-33% was remaining on the cell phone battery. The battery pack showed a 75% charge remaining after charging the Kindle fire and less than 75% of the battery pack was used to charge the the cell phone. The next test on a sunny day will be to use the 15 watt folding solar panel to recharge the Rosewell battery pack.

For solar power I’m doing a combination of 100 watt panels, AGW batteries and then several smaller battery packs that can be charged via home outlets and recharged via small solar panels. Adding batteries to your BOB can get very heavy, very quick. If it works having a small fold able 15 watt solar panel charging a small battery pack to recharge small electronic device might be something to add to your “bugout” plan.

I can’t speak for anyone else,  but I love all of the books I have downloaded on my kindle and I want to have all that data available if things go a bit sideways. The worse that can happen is everything won’t work despite all my planning.  If something works then I am ahead of the game.

Most prepping starts out as being ready for local/regional ” natural/personal disasters”.  If you start small on preparing for most common local disaster you might experience and then build on that basic set up you will be prepared for “most” of the slings and arrows of outrageous “bad luck”.

 

Comments are closed.

